top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

I Can Tweet

So before this year, my relationship with Twitter was funny screencaps on other social media platforms. I had an account for a while but I never really got the hang of it. I think it was mostly because Twitter has a 140 character limit and I am the type of person who always has a lot to say. However, I have learned you can say a lot in few words.

Now before we continue, it was not that I did not know how to use Twitter, it was more that I did not feel a need to use it because I saw it on other social media. Saying that, Twitter was a lot more resourceful than I thought it was. When you constantly see it as a means of a comedy outlet or someone/something getting dragged, you do not really think it can be anything else. I've had twitter for a while. I was convinced by one of my friends in my freshman year of high school and my physics teacher would use it to post the homework. After a while, I just did not find the app appealing (ha). I would definitely delete and re-download the app constantly because I wanted to get better, it just did not stick.

For the last two months, I have made an effort to use Twitter as much as I use my other social media apps. I followed more news accounts, product accounts (well, make up product accounts) and celebrity accounts.

For the news, Twitter was very resourceful. Most news apps used links, which made sense because you can not post full articles on Twitter. You could tell the news accounts were very particular to the words they chose because they needed to draw other tweeters in so open the article. A lot of the celebrities I followed were musicians, so they were using Twitter to promote their new released music. I definitely found out about Lady Gaga's new album Joanne through Twitter (I forgot I even followed her and I loved the album). The product accounts would use Twitter for customer feedback and promotions. I found out about Sephora deals, Glossier releases, Colourpop swatches (and through the Affinity Magazine Twitter I learned about Colourpop releasing a very racist product line of Sculpting Sticks).

Twitter is also connected to EVERYTHING. I recently discovered this app called Anchor (EVERYONE SHOULD USE THIS APP IT IS AMAZING) and all my posts on that app are connected to my Twitter. I made my first a Glossier purchase and I was given the option to share my purchase as well as provide a promotional deal to whoever clicked on my link. It was insane.

Overall, I learned that Twitter is a great source for current events and marketing and not just comedy. I now feel more comfortable using it and can definitely give it a 10/10.

bottom of page